“Granpa Jack”

Okay, Granpa Jack is the difficult one!!  So here’s what I think I’ve figured out…

This is one part of a photo of both my Granpa Jack and Granpa Jesse.

This is one part of a photo of both my Granpa Jack and Granpa Jesse.

Granpa Jack (John Worsham) was born April 1838 to Daniel and Alsey (Joiner) Worsham.  He is listed as having been born in Georgia from what records seem to say.  In 1850 he is listed as living with Daniel and Alsey in Marion county, Georgia.  1860 finds the family living in Militia District 743, Taylor county, Georgia.  From what I can make of records, he married Elizabeth Johnson on March 7, 1861.  She was his second wife but I have yet to find anything on a first wife.

Let’s look at a couple of things before we get to the Civil War episode of his life.  There are two children listed as living with Granpa Jack and Granma Elizabeth: Orren (1857) and Sissy (1859).  So these children were born before they got married.  So the question now is if they were illegitimate (born out of wedlock) or if they are Granma Elizabeth’s from a prior marriage.  I can’t seem to find documentation either way.  It could also be that the date for the marriage (March 7, 1861).  I think what some are guessing is that these are not he and Granma Elizabeth’s children, thus a first marriage before her.  At this point, any of these are possibilities.

Two of my 3g grandfathers, Jesse Hobby (left) and John "Jack" Worsham (right).

Two of my 3g grandfathers, Jesse Hobby (left) and John “Jack” Worsham (right).

Documenting his time in the Civil War has been very difficult.  Because I have no middle name for him, that adds a difficulty to this.  I think I have narrowed down which unit he was with by process of elimination; however, I’m not sure sure I have proof positive.  I have found documentation on his two older brothers and next youngest: James Monroe “Daniel”, William Henry, John “Jack”, then Young Stokes.  I’ll write more on the documentation I’ve found that I feel pertains to him later.

This is Jesse Hobby, Civil War soldier and father of Lue Hobby.

This is Jesse Hobby, Civil War soldier and father of Lue Hobby.

Above is the photo of Jesse Hobby, my other 3g grandfather in this same line.  His daughter, Eliza Lucretia, is who married Granpa Jack’s son, John.  I definitely have Granpa Jesse as having served in the Civil War and surrendering at Appomatox Court House.  It’s very interesting that the children of these two Civil War Veterans would end up marrying; however, the Hobby and Worsham families did not live too far apart!

1870 found Granpa Jack listed as living in Gatlins, Macon county, Georgia.  The family seemed to have moved by 1880 to Cedar Creek, Taylor county, Georgia.  Per usual, there are no 1890 Federal Census records.  It appears that he married Julia on November 16, 1893.  This is confirmed in the 1900 Federal Census where they are listed as living in “Militia Districts 853, 1071, Howard, Cedar Creek, Taylor, Georgia”.  I do have the 1910 Federal Census showing them as living in  Ideal, Macon county, Georgia with son James Collier.  I have not found him/ them in the 1920 or 1930 Federal Census.  The death date I have is January 15, 1931, for now that’s not documented.  And I haven’t managed to pin down his burial location, thought I have “potentials” from Findagrave.com that I’ll look into.

**If you happen to know where CEDAR CREEK, Taylor county, Georgia, is present day, PLEASE contact me.  I’m curious as to it’s whereabouts.**

2 Comments

Filed under searching, Worsham

2 responses to ““Granpa Jack”

  1. As far as “where CEDAR CREEK, Taylor county, GA, is present day,” I may be able to help, not sure. Have you located yet?

    • I sure did!! Thanks for asking and reminding me that I hadn’t updated here!! I got the following response on a Facebook group: “I asked a friend of mine up in Taylor County, and she asked her Daddy. Here is the answer: ” Cedar Creek is in the southwestern part of Taylor County, near the Marion County Line. There is a Cedar Creek Country Club just across the Marion line. My daddy says he thinks there used to be a Cedar Creek voting precinct. ” I hope this helps in your research.” Rupert, Ideal, Tazewell, and Concord form something of a diamond shape that seems to be the nucleus of where they were. Along the Highway 19 corridor to an extent if you’re looking on a modern day map.

Leave a Reply

