Lost and Found – John Wilson

"John Wilson - colored help" is about all I knew, it's all Gunga wrote...

“John Wilson – colored help” is about all I knew, it’s all Gunga wrote…

It’s been several months now since I snagged the boxes and envelopes from my Tata’s apartment.  (Tata is what I call my grandmother, my mom’s mother.)  Heehee… I’m a stinker and still have them, but she doesn’t mind!  Some of them were actually her mother’s, my Gunga.  The one above being amongst those from Gunga herself.  All Gunga had written on it was that his name was John Wilson and he was colored help.  I still would love to find out who his family is.  I would love to share a copy of this with them.  But I still have some investigating to do.

After some work, here’s a few things I’ve managed to deduce… I think?!  This photo appears to be from about 1920- 1930.  The plant in the back is castor bean.  Possibly sold to or used by the local pharmacist, whom Granpapa Elijah Jr happened to be related to.  I managed to find him in some census records and draft cards with a little help.  He was a drayman for Granpapa Elijah Jr’s grocery story, Cochran Grocer, there in Cochran, Georgia.  his birthday appears to be November 15, 1873.  He was married to a Phebe Ann Porter as best I can tell, but I’m not sure the daughter (Lela Verseois Porter) is his and not just hers since the last name is Porter.

I’ll have to comment more if I find more at some point… but PLEASE leave a message or contact me if you have information!!  Thank you…

Leave a comment

Filed under Ancestry Ace, remembering, searching, Wilson

Leave a Reply

